AHEPA to Honor Greek American Athletes in 2018 Athletic Awards

AHEPA Family Commemorate OXI Day, October 2017

The American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association (Order of AHEPA) will award outstanding Greek-American athletes, scholar-athletes, and former athletes at its Athletic Luncheon to be held at the 96th Supreme Convention, on Wednesday, July 25, in Atlantic City, N.J., announced Supreme President Carl R. Hollister.

“The luncheon presents a special opportunity to recognize Hellenes who excel in their individual sports or who display excellence in the classroom, on the field of athletics and volunteerism within their respective communities,” Hollister said. “We congratulate our honorees.  They are committed to perpetuating and promoting these ideals, which are all part of our mission.”

And he added, “I commend AHEPA’s National Athletic Department, led by Supreme Athletic Director Louis G. Atsaves and Gregory J. Stamos, who chairs the Athletic Awards Selection Committee, for their hard work and dedication to honoring excellence in this field.”

The 2018 Class of the AHEPA Hellenic Athletic Hall of Fame will include:

  • Harry Cicma, Emmy Award-Winning Sports Anchor and former world-ranked ATP Tour Professional Tennis Player;

  • Michele Koclanes, former basketball standout at the University of Richmond;

  • George Papadakos, college and professional basketball player;

  • Mark Philippoussis, former world-ranked ATP Professional Tennis Player and Olympian; and

  • George Ravanis, former baseball standout at Boston College.

The AHEPA Hellenic Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1974 by the late Supreme Athletic Director, Dr. Monte Kofos, and now includes more than 150 inductees. ​

The Hellenic Athletic Hall of Fame Order has always taken pride in the achievements of the Greek American athlete, from the heyday of world class wrestler Jim Londos. AHEPA’s Harry Agganis Award was established in 1955, in memory of the great all-American. Agganis honorees have included: in football, Detroit Lion Alex Karras; in basketball, Boston Celtic Lou Tsiropoulos; and in baseball, Baltimore Oriole Milt Pappas, among recent recipients are Olympic diver Greg Louganis and University of Georgia football coach and All-American Mike Castronis.

Every year, the AHEPA Athletics Committee awards thousands of dollars in scholarships at the AHEPA Convention.