2011 Gabby Awards Winners

2011 Gabby Awards
Reported Live from Ellis Island

On June 4, 2011, the Gabby Awards ceremony took place at Ellis Island. This year’s award ceremony honors the achievement of prominent individuals of the Greek-American community in the following nine categories: “Arts, Culture and Media,” as well as “Performing Arts,” “Science and Medicine,” “Business,” “Politics and Public Service,” “Philanthropy,” “Athletics,” “Education” and the “Promotion of Hellenism.”

In the “Performing Arts” category, John Varvatos and Melina Kanakaredes presented the Gabby award to Constantine Maroulis, former American Idol alum and Tony Award-nominated actor. He bested out fellow entertainers Tina Fey and Zach Galifianakis.

Days of Our Lives actor John Aniston presented the Gabby award in the “Politics and Public Service” category to Maine Senator Olympia Snow. Her elite category featured Harry Markopoulos, a financial fraud investigator, and U.S. Congressman John Sarbanes.

In the “Science and Medicine” category, veteran motion picture producer Sid Ganis presented the award to transplant surgeon Dr. Andreas Tzakis. Esteemed neurosurgeon Dr. John Golfinos and Dr. Peter Diamandis were also nominated.

It was followed by costume designer Patricia Field presenting the “Arts, Media, and Culture” award to Louie Psihoyios, an Academy Award-winning film documentarian and photographer.

Academy Award-winning actress Olympia Dukakis presented the 2011 “Lifetime Achievement” Gabby award to her first cousin, Michael Dukakis, former Government of Massachusetts and U.S. Presidential Candidate; moreover, internationally renowned artist Stephen Antonakos also received a 2001 “Lifetime Achievement” honor at this year’s Gabby ceremony. Both of these individuals have a special connection to Ellis Island; Dukakis’ mother entered Ellis Island, and Mr. Antonakos arrived at this landmark in 1930.

Dr. David Horner, the president of the American College of Greece, presented the GABBY for education to Dr. Linda Katehi, the Chancellor of the University of California Davis. She was in the company of fellow veteran educators Dr. George Kafkoulis and Dr. Nicholas Economides.

In the “Athletics” category, the Gabby award went to retired NHL Hockey Player Chris Chelios. He was presented this honor by professional chef Cat Cora.

AHEPA (American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association) President Mr. Nick Karakostas was the recipient of the Gabby award for “Promotion of Hellenism.”

Thomas Belesis, the CEO and founder of John Thomas Financial, served as presenter for the “Business and Entrepreneurism” Gabby award. The award went to Mr. James Gianopulos, the Chairman and CEO of Fox Films Entertainment.

George Logothetis, the Chairman and CEO of Libra Group, made an appearance to announce a new internship program in partnership with Greek America.

Mr. Peter Karmanos, Jr., the co-founder and CEO of Compuware Corporation and owner of the Carolina Hurricanes, accepts the “Philanthropy” award, which is the final honor of the evening.

Greek singing sensation Glykeria and her orchestra closed this year’s Gabby Awards ceremony. Congratulations to all the 2011 Gabby award winners and nominees!

*Greek Reporter is the official digital media partner of the 2011 Gabby Awards

(Anastasios Papapostolou & Evangelos Goulas also contributed to this story)

Comments are closed.